Grading Standards12 min read

PSA 10 vs BGS 9.5 vs CGC 10 vs TAG 10: The Centering Crosswalk

PSA 10, BGS 9.5, CGC Gem Mint 10 and TAG 10 all sit at 55/45 on the front; backs and Pristine tiers differ. Measure your card and see which label it can reach.

By

Four graded trading cards in clear cases standing in a row on a white shelf

On centering alone, PSA 10, BGS 9.5, CGC Gem Mint 10, SGC 10 Gem and TAG Gem Mint 10 are the same card on the front: every one of those tiers is published at 55/45. Where they part ways is the back of the card and the extra "pristine" tier above the gem line. BGS 9.5 wants a back of 60/40 or better; PSA 10 and CGC Gem Mint 10 allow 75/25; TAG Gem Mint 10 allows about 70/30 on sports and 65/35 on TCG; SGC does not publish a back figure at all.

The top-of-scale labels are tighter. BGS Pristine 10 (gold or black label) is 50/50 on the front and 55/45 on the back. CGC Pristine 10 and SGC 10 Pristine are 50/50 on the front. TAG Pristine 10 is about 51/49 on the front with a back of roughly 54.5/45.5 (sports) or 52/48 (TCG). Those are the only labels for which a 53/47 card is genuinely "off-center."

So the practical crosswalk is short: measure both axes on the front and back, find the worse axis, and read across. A 54/46 front with a 65/35 back reaches the gem tier everywhere. A 54/46 front with a 72/28 back is still a PSA 10 or CGC 10 but drops to a BGS centering subgrade of 9 and a TAG 9 on a TCG card. This article gives you the full table, the math behind it and a decision guide for "my card measures X, who do I send it to?"

The centering crosswalk table (front of card)

Every number below is taken from the company's published standard as of August 2026. "Max grade" means the best grade your centering allows; other flaws can still lower it. PSA, CGC and TAG print "approximately" next to their figures, and PSA adds a footnote that a small variance may be permitted for eye appeal, so treat the boundaries as lines, not walls.

Worse-axis front centeringPSABGS (centering subgrade)CGCSGCTAGACE
50/501010 Pristine (Black if all subs 10)Pristine 1010 PRIPristine 10 (if ≤ ~51/49)10
51/49109.5Gem Mint 1010 GMPristine 10 (~51/49 limit)10
52/48 – 55/45109.5Gem Mint 1010 GMGem Mint 1010
56/44 – 59/419899910 (better than 60/40)
60/40989999
61/39 – 62.5/37.58788.5 / 88.59
63/37 – 65/358788.5 / 889
66/34 – 70/307677.5 / 77 (7.5 at ~67.5/32.5)8
71/29 – 75/256 (up to 80/20)5666 (6.5 at ~72.5/27.5)7
76/24 – 80/2064between 6 and 4.5 (not stated)55 (5.5 at ~77.5/22.5)6 to 4
81/19 – 85/155 / 434.544 (4.5 at ~82.5/17.5)3 to 1
86/14 – 90/103 / 2 / 1.523.53 / 2 / 1.53 (3.5 at ~87.5/12.5)not stated

A few notes on reading it:

  • BGS column shows the centering subgrade, not the final grade. Beckett's official process note says the overall grade "is not a simple average of the four subgrades" and the lowest subgrade is the most heavily weighted. A centering 8 with three 9.5s lands around 8.5, not 9.
  • CGC's ratios for grades below 10 are explicitly scoped to "sports and non-sports cards." CGC publishes no numeric ratio for TCG cards at 9 and under, so the CGC column for a Pokémon or One Piece card is an inference from the sports standard, not a published rule.
  • SGC lists 65/35 for both 8.5 and 8, and 70/30 for both 7.5 and 7. Centering alone does not separate the half grade; the rest of the card does.
  • ACE's Gem Mint 10 is written as "less than a 60/40 split," which is why ACE is the only company whose top grade survives a 58/42 front.
  • TAG's 8 row is the one place the rubric mentions a TCG back (95/5) but no separate TCG front, so the front figure applies to both.

For the full grade-by-grade ladder at each company, including every back tolerance, see the master centering tolerance table.

The back-of-card crosswalk is where the labels actually separate

Front centering is the headline, but the back is what decides whether a card that is "gem" at PSA is also "gem" at Beckett or TAG.

Company and tierBack tolerance (published)
PSA 10 Gem Mint75/25
PSA 9 Mint90/10
BGS 10 Pristine / Black Label55/45 or better
BGS 9.5 Gem Mint60/40 or better
BGS 9 Mint70/30 or better
BGS 8 NM-MT80/20 or better
CGC Pristine 10not stated
CGC Gem Mint 1075/25
CGC 9 Mint (sports/non-sports)90/10
SGC (all grades)not stated
TAG Pristine 10~54.5/45.5 sports, ~52/48 TCG
TAG Gem Mint 10~70/30 sports, ~65/35 TCG
TAG 9 Mint~90/10 sports, ~75/25 TCG
ACE 10 Gem Mintbetter than 60/40
ACE 9 Mint70/30

Three things jump out. First, PSA and CGC are the most forgiving on backs at the gem tier (75/25), which is 3:1 borders. Second, BGS 9.5 is the strictest mainstream gem label on the back (60/40), and BGS 10 is stricter still (55/45). Third, TAG treats TCG backs more strictly than sports backs at every tier, which matters for Pokémon and One Piece submitters. The back centering guide goes deeper on why backs are looser and how to measure them on blue Pokémon backs and text-heavy sports backs.

How to compute the numbers you will look up

Centering is a ratio of two opposite borders. Measure left and right borders, add them, divide each by the sum, and write the bigger number first. Do the same for top and bottom. Do it on the front and the back. Your card's centering for crosswalk purposes is the worst of those measurements, because PSA designates centering "as the percent of difference at the most off-center part of the card" and TAG's Pristine rule is written as a "single measurement" limit.

Worked example on a standard 63.5 x 88.9 mm card:

  • Left border 2.4 mm, right border 2.0 mm → 2.4 / 4.4 = 54.5% → 55/45 left/right.
  • Top border 2.9 mm, bottom border 2.5 mm → 2.9 / 5.4 = 53.7% → 54/46 top/bottom.
  • Back left 3.1 mm, back right 1.7 mm → 3.1 / 4.8 = 64.6% → 65/35 back.

Worse front axis is 55/45, so this card sits exactly on the gem line everywhere and will be judged on everything else. The 65/35 back passes PSA 10, CGC Gem Mint 10, TAG Gem Mint 10 (both sports at 70/30 and TCG at 65/35, just), but fails the BGS 9.5 back line of 60/40, so Beckett's centering subgrade would be a 9.

Precision matters at these margins. On a 2 mm border, a 0.25 mm measurement error moves the ratio by roughly 6 points, which is the entire gap between 52/48 and 58/42. Measure out of the sleeve, straight down or from a flat scan, and take two readings per side to catch a tilted cut. The free card centering calculator lets you drop guide lines on a photo in the browser and returns both axes, front and back, mapped to each company's standard; the full method is in how to measure card centering at home.

"My card measures X": which grader gives the best label?

This decision table is purely about centering. It assumes corners, edges and surface are all strong, and it ignores market value, turnaround and fees, which are real considerations covered elsewhere.

Your worst front axisYour worst back axisBest centering outcome by company
50/50 – 51/49≤ 55/45 (sports ≤ 54.5/45.5 or TCG ≤ 52/48 for TAG)Everyone's top tier is open: BGS 10 / Black Label, CGC Pristine 10, SGC 10 PRI, TAG Pristine 10, PSA 10
50/50 – 51/4956/44 – 60/40BGS centering 9.5 (back fails 55/45); CGC Pristine still possible on front (no back figure published); TAG Gem Mint 10; PSA 10; SGC 10 PRI
52/48 – 55/45≤ 60/40Gem everywhere: PSA 10, BGS 9.5, CGC Gem Mint 10, SGC 10 GM, TAG Gem Mint 10, ACE 10
52/48 – 55/4561/39 – 65/35PSA 10, CGC 10, SGC 10 GM, TAG Gem Mint 10; ACE 9 (back must beat 60/40 for an ACE 10); BGS centering 9
52/48 – 55/4566/34 – 70/30PSA 10, CGC 10, SGC 10 GM, TAG Gem Mint 10 (sports only; TCG → 9); BGS centering 9
52/48 – 55/4571/29 – 75/25PSA 10 and CGC 10 only; TAG 9; BGS centering 8
56/44 – 59/41any ≤ 60/40ACE 10; everyone else 9 tier (BGS centering 8); PSA 10 possible only under the eye-appeal variance, collectors report it as hit-and-miss
60/40 – 65/35anyPSA 8 to 9 (PSA's 5% leeway can carry a 65/35 to the 9 line "if the eye appeal of the card is good"); CGC 8 to 9; SGC 8 to 9; TAG 8 to 9; ACE 9; BGS centering 7 to 8

Two realistic scenarios:

Scenario A: a modern Pokémon holo, 53/47 front, 70/30 back. PSA 10 and CGC Gem Mint 10 are both open. TAG Gem Mint 10 is not, because the TCG back limit is about 65/35; TAG would score the card in its 9 band (900–949 points). BGS centering subgrade is a 9, which still allows a final BGS 9.5 under Beckett's rule that Gem Mint needs "at least three grades of 9.5 and the fourth to be no less than a 9." If your goal is the word "10" on the label, this card goes to PSA or CGC.

Scenario B: a Prizm base rookie, 57/43 front, 55/45 back. PSA's published Gem Mint line is 55/45; 57/43 sits in the PSA 9 range on paper, with PSA's eye-appeal clause as the only route to a 10. CGC 9, SGC 9, TAG 9 and BGS centering 8 follow the same logic. ACE's Gem Mint 10 is "less than a 60/40 split," so ACE is the one company whose top grade is open on published standards. Whether an ACE 10 serves your goal better than a PSA 9 is a market question, not a centering question.

Why a BGS 9.5 and a PSA 10 are treated as the "same" gem tier

Both companies draw the front line at 55/45, and both consider it the line below Pristine or perfect. Beckett's scale reads "55/45 both ways on front. 60/40 or better on back" for 9.5, and PSA's reads "within a tolerance not to exceed approximately 55/45 percent on the front, and 75/25 percent on the reverse" for 10. The "both ways" in Beckett's text means both axes individually, the same thing PSA means with "most off-center part."

The difference in the number on the label comes from how the two scales are built. Beckett has a full grade above 9.5 (Pristine 10, gold or black) reserved for 50/50 front and 55/45 back. PSA has nothing above 10, so its 10 absorbs everything from 50/50 to 55/45. CGC now follows the PSA structure for its Gem Mint 10 and keeps Pristine 10 as a 50/50 label; SGC does the same with 10 GM and 10 PRI; TAG does it with two 10 bands (950–989 Gem Mint, 990–1000 Pristine). Only Beckett still puts a "9.5" on its gem tier. Older guides that say "PSA 10 = 60/40" are describing PSA's pre-2025 front standard; the current published figure is 55/45, as explained in the PSA centering standards article.

Details on Beckett's subgrade algorithm and what separates Gold from Black Label are in BGS centering standards, and the TAG rubric with its 1000-point bands is in TAG grading centering explained.

Caveats that stop the crosswalk from being a price calculator

  • Centering is one criterion of four. BGS, CGC and TAG all name centering, corners, edges and surface. A perfectly centered card with a soft corner will not reach any of the tiers in the table.
  • Market value does not track centering equivalence. A BGS 9.5 and a PSA 10 satisfy the same front line but do not sell for the same money, and BGS 10 and Black Label carry their own premium because 50/50 is rare. Crosswalk the centering, then price the label separately.
  • Subjectivity exists at PSA, CGC and SGC. PSA reserves the right to "make a judgment call" on borderline cards depending on contrast and eye appeal, and states a 5% front leeway for grades 7 and up. TAG and ACE measure by machine, so their lines are closer to literal.
  • Back data is missing for SGC and CGC Pristine. Neither publishes a back figure for those tiers. Measure the back anyway; "not stated" does not mean "not looked at."
  • TCG at CGC. CGC's sub-10 ratios are written for sports and non-sports cards. For TCG you are applying the sports ladder by analogy.
  • Legacy labels. CGC's old Trading Cards 9.5 and CSG 9.5 relabel to CGC Cards Gem Mint 10, and the old Perfect 10 is retired. A slab's label era affects which standard it was graded to.

If you want to see every company's ladder next to each other instead of only the gem tier, the grading standards guide and the tolerance-by-grade table lay it all out.

Bottom line

  • PSA 10, BGS 9.5, CGC Gem Mint 10, SGC 10 Gem and TAG Gem Mint 10 share the same published front line: 55/45.
  • Backs separate them: BGS 9.5 needs 60/40, TAG Gem Mint needs ~70/30 sports or ~65/35 TCG, PSA 10 and CGC 10 allow 75/25.
  • The pristine tiers (BGS 10, CGC Pristine, SGC PRI, TAG Pristine) are 50/50 or ~51/49 front, and BGS 10 also needs a 55/45 back.
  • A 56/44 to 59/41 front is a 9 everywhere on paper except ACE, whose 10 allows anything better than 60/40.
  • Always crosswalk the worst axis, front and back, and remember the table gives you a ceiling, not a grade.

Frequently asked questions

Is a BGS 9.5 the same as a PSA 10 for centering?

On the front, yes. Beckett's published Gem Mint 9.5 line is 55/45 both ways and PSA's Gem Mint 10 line is approximately 55/45. They split on the back: BGS 9.5 needs 60/40 or better, PSA 10 allows up to 75/25. A card with a 70/30 back can be a PSA 10 but would take a BGS centering subgrade of 9, not 9.5.

Does a BGS 9 centering subgrade equal a PSA 10?

Often, yes. Beckett's 9 Mint centering line is 55/45 both ways on the front with a 70/30 back. PSA 10 is approximately 55/45 front and 75/25 back. So a card that earns a BGS 9 for centering because of its back can still meet PSA's Gem Mint centering line, while a BGS 8 centering subgrade (60/40 front) lands on PSA's 9 line.

Which grader is strictest on centering for a 10?

For the absolute top label, BGS Pristine 10 and Black Label (50/50 front, 55/45 back) and TAG Pristine 10 (about 51/49 front) are the tightest. For the ordinary gem tier, PSA 10, BGS 9.5, CGC Gem Mint 10, SGC 10 Gem and TAG Gem Mint 10 all use 55/45 on the front; BGS 9.5 is the strictest on the back at 60/40.

My card measures 58/42. Which company can still give it a 10?

On published standards, only ACE, whose Gem Mint 10 allows centering up to but not including a 60/40 split. PSA, CGC, SGC and TAG all put 58/42 in their 9 tier, and BGS would assign a centering subgrade of 8. PSA grants itself a 5 percent front leeway for cards graded 7 or better based on eye appeal, so collectors report occasional borderline 10s, but you should not plan on it.

Is a CGC Gem Mint 10 the old CGC 9.5?

Yes. CGC's legacy key states that CGC Trading Cards Gem Mint 9.5 and CSG Gem Mint 9.5 map to CGC Cards Gem Mint 10, and the old Perfect 10 is retired. Today CGC's Gem Mint 10 centering line is approximately 55/45 front and 75/25 back, with Pristine 10 reserved for 50/50 cards.

Does this crosswalk tell me the final grade my card will get?

No. It only tells you the highest grade your centering allows at each company. Corners, edges and surface can pull the final grade below that ceiling, and Beckett's final grade is weighted toward the lowest of its four subgrades. Use the crosswalk to rule out companies your centering cannot satisfy, then inspect the rest of the card.

Sources & further reading

#psa#bgs#cgc#tag#sgc#ace#centering-crosswalk#grading-comparison